• Anne

Chess and winter holidays are synonymous in my mind. Here's a puzzle from Susan Polgar's book Chess Tactics for Champions (!!) from the section Forks & Double Attacks...White to move...

...send me a message if you would like the solution!

  • Anne

Naturally, the holidays involve lots of time spent reading and this year is no different. Helping me to cross the bridge from this year to the next is The Miles Davis Reader, which I added to my order when I renewed my Downbeat Magazine subscription...first of all, I know it's old-school but I love finding out about new music on the radio and from magazines. I love being able to carry that news around with me, and having it just be news about music and not also a phone. Anyway, I'm getting ready to dig into this collection of interviews & essays written across the span of Miles Davis' professional life. One of the most beautiful things about music is that there is always something new to learn. It's infinite...

  • Anne

Every New Year, I always have a feeling of anticipation, hope and curiosity (sometimes trepidation!) about what the new year will bring...it's a feeling of chance. Luckily, the pianist who has probably influenced me the most, Kenny Kirkland, composed a tune called Chance and here is a clip from a concert that I played almost a year ago at Good Samaritan UMC in Cupertino, where we perform it. That evening I had the great good fortune to be playing with Aaron Germain (bass) and Dillon Vado (drums)...

get in touch

questions, comments


Anne Sajdera

Copyright © 2019 Anne Sajdera